Why is a napkin called a napkin?

A napkin, serviette or face towelette is a rectangle of cloth used at the table for wiping the mouth and fingers while eating. The word comes from Middle English, borrowing the French nappe—a cloth covering for a table—and adding -kin, the diminutive suffix.