Why do they call it shoofly pie?

According to some, the name of this popular molasses-flavored treat comes from a time when bakers would have to “shoo” flies away from their pies cooling on the windowsill. Similarly, others speculate that the name is a reference to the old song from the 1800s that sang, “Shoo-fly, don’t bother me.”