Why is it called a coffee table?

Coffee tables were originally used in living spaces during social gatherings to support a tray containing multiple mugs, a coffee pot & condiments. Low to the ground and centrally located in the space, coffee tables reduced the host or hostess’s need to constantly stand and serve her guests.