What is the substitute for ginger?

You can easily swap in other ingredients in your spice cabinet for ginger without losing flavor. For 1 tsp. fresh or ground ginger, substitute 1 tsp. ground allspice, ground cinnamon, ground mace, or ground nutmeg.