When was the first murder hornet discovered?

The Asian giant hornet, Vespa mandarinia, is native to East Asia, South Asia, Mainland Southeast Asia, parts of the Russian Far East. Wasps & hornets have been around since the mid-Triassic (about 240 million years ago), so humans in those areas would have discovered the hornets very early.