What does snookums mean?

The slang word "snookums" is a erm of endearment from the name of the baby added in 1907 to the popular "New York World" comic strip "The Newlyweds" by U.S. cartoonist George McManus. The name is perhaps from Snooks, a proper name used in Britain for "a hypothetical person."

---

snookums is a term of endearment, especially for a child.