What is softap mode?

Android provides support for Wi-Fi hotspot (Soft AP) including tethering through a Wi-FI hotspot and local-only Wi-Fi hotspots. The soft AP feature allows for the configuration of the following: SSID and BSSID. Security type (including WPA3) Hidden SSID.