Why are dogs afraid of vacuum cleaners?

Dogs have better hearing than humans and the vacuum is loud with high-pitched noise most humans can't hear. The vacuum cleaner is down at their level and is moving around randomly and may seem threatening to the dog. If your dog fears the vacuum put them in a safe place like a crate while you clean.