What was the cause of the duel between aaron burr and alexander hamilton?

Aaron Burr, Vice president, shot his long-time political rival Alexander Hamilton, in an "Affair of honor duel," due to slanderous attacks made by Hamilton against Burr's character in political campaigns. Hamilton died the following day. Burr was not injured.

---

Hamilton refused, in writing, to retract comments he had made over the previous 15 years and at a social gathering; Burr challenged him, in writing, to a duel. Hamilton accepted. The two of them met. In Accordance to the rules of dueling, Burr shot him.