What's the m. l. b. record for strikeout's in a game?

The record for most strikeouts in a game is 21, by Tom Cheney of the Washington Senators, in 16 innings over the Baltimore Orioles, Sept. 12, 1962. 20 pitchers have struck out at least 18 batters in a 9 inning M L B game, most recently, Max Scherzer of the Washington Nationals on May 11, 2016.