What's the song that goes r. e. s. p. e. c. t.?

Respect is a song written & released by recording artist Otis Redding in 1965. The song became a 1967 hit & signature song for soul singer Aretha Franklin. The music in the two versions is significantly different, and with changes in the lyrics, the stories told by the songs have a different flavor.