What's the difference between a paramedic and an e. m. t.?

The biggest difference between them is the amount of education they receive and what they are allowed to do for patients (scope of practice). EMTs usually complete a course that is about 120-150 hours in length. Paramedic courses can be between 1,200 to 1,800 hours.