When did coca-cola first start?

On May 8, 1886, Dr. John Pemberton sold the first glass of Coca-Cola at Jacobs' Pharmacy in downtown Atlanta. In those days, it was only available as a syrup that had to be mixed in soda water at the soda fountain.