What bird flies at the highest altitude?

The two highest-flying bird species on record are the endangered Ruppell's griffon vulture, which has been spotted flying at 37,000 feet (the same height as a coasting commercial airplane), and the bar-headed goose, which has been seen flying over the Himalayas at heights of nearly 28,000 feet.