What's a chocolate?

Chocolate is a food made from roasted and ground cacao seed kernels, that is available as a liquid, solid, or paste, either on its own or as a flavoring agent in other foods. Cacao has been consumed in some form since at least the Olmec civilization, and the majority of Mesoamerican people.