What started the peshtigo fire?

From the National Weather Service...The story of the Peshtigo Fire, gleaned from survivor accounts and conjecture, is that railroad workers clearing land for tracks that Sunday evening started a brush fire which became an inferno. It had been an unusually dry summer, and the fire moved fast.