Is labrador part of canada?

Newfoundland and Labrador, province of Canada composed of the island of Newfoundland and a larger mainland sector, Labrador, to the northwest. It is the newest of Canada's 10 provinces, having joined the confederation only in 1949; its name was officially changed to Newfoundland and Labrador in 2001