Who invented the perm?

The perm, also known as the permanent hair style, was first invented by French hairstylist, Marcel Grateau, in 1870, as a long-lasting hair technique. A wave machine, producing even longer lasting results, was invented by Swiss hairdresser, Karl Nessler, which was premiered in 1906.