What is disconcerting signals?

The word "disconcerting" means causing one to feel unsettled. A signal is a gesture, action, or sound that is used to convey information or instructions, typically by prearrangement between the parties concerned. So a disconcerting signal would be one that makes you feel nervous or anxious.