What does mad stand for cold war?

M.A.D. stands for "mutually assured destruction", meaning that regardless of who starts a nuclear war, both nuclear-armed belligerents can expect to be decimated by the second-strike capability of the other. This is given as a reason nuclear powers have never gone to war.