How can birds talk?

Lacking vocal cords, birds are thought to make tones and sounds using throat muscles and membranes – the syrinx in particular. ... Pet birds can be taught to speak by their owners by mimicking their voice. If then introduced to wild birds, the wild birds may also mimic the new sounds.