Why did the fire nation attack?

In Avatar: The Last Airbender, Fire Lord Sozin attacked when the Fire Nation's power increased with the arrival of Sozin's Comet. With Avatar Roku gone and Avatar Aang frozen, Sozin successfully destroyed the Air Nation, raided the Southern Water Tribe, and invaded the Earth Kingdom.