Can hummingbirds taste?

The short answer is yes, hummingbirds have taste buds — just not the ones you think. It is well known that hummingbirds prefer more concentrated nectar, but only very recently have we discovered how they can tell if a flower or feeder has the good stuff (i.e. sucrose, a.k.a. sugar) or just water.