What's the difference between paprika and spanish paprika?

Paprika is the name for the spice made from dried and ground chiles, Capsicum annum or Caspsicum longum. Also called Spanish paprika or pimenton, smoked paprika is made from peppers that are smoked, dried, and then ground into powder.

---

Spanish paprika is roasted so it has a smokey flavor.