Where did the expression that's all she wrote come from?

Most attribute it to the Dear John letters sent during WW II. A joke made the rounds in which servicemen compare their Dear John letters, one being a long good-bye letter, one consisting of a few sentences, and one simply saying “Dear John”, leading to the punch line ‘and that’s all she wrote’.