What was al-qaeda?

Al-Qaeda is a militant Sunni Islamist multi-national terrorist organization. It was founded in 1988 by Osama bin Laden, Abdullah Azzam, and several other Arab volunteers during the Soviet–Afghan War. Al-Qaeda operates as a network of Islamic extremists and Salafist jihadists.