When did people start eating bacon?

Salted pork belly first appeared on dining tables thousands of years ago in China. Pork curing methods spread throughout the Roman Empire, and Anglo-Saxon peasants cooked with bacon fat. During the 17th Century, “bacon” began to refer exclusively to the salted and smoked belly that we know today.