What catches fruit flies?

You can make a fruit fly trap by pouring some apple cider vinegar into a small glass or jar, then cover it with some plastic wrap and a rubber band, and poke a small hole in the center of the plastic wrap. The flies will be drawn to the smell of the vinegar and crawl into the hole and be trapped.