How long does it take alcohol to kick in?

Alcohol can take effect almost immediately if you have not eaten food or had an alcoholic drink in a while. It depends on what and how much you drink. A typical person who does not often go out to drink may have a couple drinks within the first hour and already start to feel its effects.