How do you care for a bird of paradise?

Keep the soil moist, but not soggy during the spring through fall. In the winter, allow two inches of soil to dry out between waterings. The Bird of Paradise cannot handle 'wet feet', meaning its roots should not sit in wet soil. It's best to keep your Bird of Paradise on the dry side.