How do ponds move in chess?

Pawns move one space forward, unless it's the pieces first move and they can move forward two spaces. They can only attack one space diagonally, either direction. If the pawn makes it all the way across the board, a piece previously captured can be swapped out.

---

one place forward to move and one place diagonal to kill