Why is soda cheaper than water?

Soda has long become associated in the public's mind with being cheap, sugary and childish, so companies can't get away with charging as much. The fact that they charge more for bottles of water has nothing to do with it's actual value, it's what they can convince people to pay for it.

---

Part of the reason soda is so cheap, at least in most of the US, is because not only is it typically untaxed, it's actually subsidized by the government. The US has HUGE subsidies for corn, which is made into corn syrup, which is what sweetens sodas.