What are quarter horses?

Quarter Horses are a popular American horse breed dating back to the 1600s. The breed name is American Quarter Horse.

---

What are quarter horses? The breed standard which is the AQHA was created in 1940. They were first recognized then as the American Quarter horse. The history of the decendants dates back to 1660. What it is known to be a cross between Thoroughbred, turk and barb, mustang & arabian.