How does a horse move?

Horses propel themselves on 4 legs, with hooves pushing off the ground. Horses have at least 4 types of movement or gaits - the walk, the trot or jog, the canter or lope, plus the gallop. Some breeds have additional rather unique gaits or ways of movement such as the running walk and rack.