Where did the expression goody two shoes come from?

A goody two-shoes is “a person who always does the 'right thing;" never does anything they're 'not supposed to do' and acts 'perfect' in every single way possible. It’s not clear where it came from but it was popularized by the book The History of Little Goody Two-Shoes, published in 1765.

---

The History of Little Goody Two-Shoes is a children's story published by John Newbery in London in 1765. The story popularized the phrase "goody two-shoes" as a descriptor for an excessively virtuous person or do-gooder.