What's a patriarchal society?

A patriarchal society is one that is ruled by a father or grandfather figure as the "all wise", benevolent head of society.

---

Patriarchy is an example of a behavioral sciences construct or concept. A patriarchal society is a term used to describe a theoretical societal norm in which older males are in charge and hold power and advantage over females.