How was rubber made?

Latex is gathered from rubber trees by making a cut in the bark and collecting the runny sap in cups. This process is called tapping. In order to prevent the sap from solidifying, ammonia is added. Acid is then added to the mix to extract the rubber, in a process called coagulation.