What happens when lettuce turns red?

When lettuce begins to turn red it is starting to decay or rot.

---

What happens is that when its leaves are cut or damaged their cell walls allow in oxygen. This then releases an enzyme within the plant that results in the production of those red compounds. Lettuce is also susceptible to reddening because of how it reacts with ethylene gas