What are mackinaw peaches?

The Mackinaw peach is an heirloom peach generated from seedling peaches. The Michigan peach producer says seedling selections are not from a rootstock used for peaches. The peach is produced from seed, not grafted. If a company decides to produce the Mackinaw from grafting that is not the Mackinaw.