What happens when you freeze milk?

Good Housekeeping tells us that while frozen milk retains all of its original nutrients, fat separation can give the milk a "grainy" texture once thawed. Because of this, frozen milk is best used for baking, cooking, and smoothie making, as opposed to drinking.