What is kosh?

Very good question! I googled the word Kosh, and got the answer of Kosh Otaman, 16th-18th centuries, an officer of the Zaporozhian Host -- a military society of Zaporozhian Sich that was elected annually on January 1st. Now here's a good question, why does anyone care to know?