Why is washington state named washington?

According to Wikipedia, the state is named for George Washington, the first U.S. president. The state was formed from the western part of the Washington Territory, which was ceded by the British Empire in 1846, by the Oregon Treaty in the settlement of the Oregon boundary dispute.