Why do they call it devil's food cake?

Devil's Food Cake was the result of a time when fancy names for cakes was the norm: the late 1900s. Allegedly, it was the only cake name to survive that era and make it to our modern times. This type of cake was called as such because of the deep rich color of the cake.