How was the moon created?

The most widely accepted theory is that the Moon was formed when a Mars-sized object slammed into the Earth, billions of years ago. This collision turned the newly formed Earth into a molten ball of rock again, and ejected material into orbit.

---

It is thought that the moon was formed 4.5 billion years ago when a small planetoid, about the size of Mars, collided with the Earth. Parts of the Earth and the incoming planetoid, named Theia, coalesced in orbit of the Earth to form our Moon.

---

The giant-impact hypothesis, sometimes called the Big Splash, or the Theia Impact suggests that the Moon formed out of the debris left over from a collision between Earth and an astronomical body the size of Mars, approximately 4.5 billion years ago