What is a buckwheat pillow?

A buckwheat pillow, otherwise known as a Sobakawa, is a traditional Japanese pillow filled with the hulls that encase buckwheat seeds. They are springy under compression but provide a firm, contouring support that supports proper rest of your head and neck positioning.