What was the engine war?

from Bing.com. in the early 1980s, engine manufacturers Pratt & Whitney and General Electric began an unusual, decade-long struggle. The goal each year was to win the largest annual share of F-15 and F-16 airplane engine contracts from the Air Force. This became known as “the Great Engine War.”