Why did france sell louisiana to the u. s.?

The Louisiana Purchase was a land purchase made by US president, Thomas Jefferson, in 1803. He bought the Louisiana territory from France, which was being led by Napoleon Bonaparte at the time, for 15,000,000 USD.Napoleon Bonaparte sold the land because he needed money for the Great French War