What is pascal's gambit?

Pascal's wager is a philosophical argument from 17th century's Blaise Pascal. It argues that one should live as though God exists and seek to believe. If they die and God does not actually exist, they will have only lost small things in life, whereas they stand to receive infinite gains in Heaven.