How long did it take lin manuel to write hamilton?

Miranda began working on "Hamilton" in 2009 it took six years for it to premiere on Broadway. Miranda began working on "Hamilton" in 2009.He was inspired to write a hip-hop musical about founding father Alexander Hamilton after reading the 2004 biography "Alexander Hamilton" by historian Ron Chernow