Do you need electricity all the time?

No, but life can be pretty uncomfortable without it. We use electricity to power our lights, appliances, for heating and cooling. Even homes that are "off-grid" usually have self-contained power systems for lights, pumping water, etc. People lived without it up to about a century ago.